Watch our short video on protected characteristics for more detail

  • There are nine protected characteristics

  • How many can you name?

  • How well do you know the Equality Act?

Protected characteristics enforces equality, the state of being equal, especially in relation to status, rights or opportunities.

To promote equality in the workplace, the Equality Act came into force way back in 2010.

It protects people from discrimination against nine specific protected characteristics.

Press pause, grab a pen and see if you can name all nine.

  1. Age
  2. Disability
  3. Gender reassignment
  4. Marriage and civil partnership
  5. Pregnancy and maternity
  6. Race
  7. Religion or belief
  8. Sex (or gender)
  9. Sexual orientation

How did you get on?

Does your equality policy cover all nine? If not, it might be time to update it and communicate it to your employees. The cost of being found guilty of discrimination for any of these characteristics can be great, as tribunal fees are uncapped. In addition, if you dismiss someone on the grounds of pregnancy or maternity, this is automatic unfair dismissal, in addition to discrimination, which increases the compensation award further.

Do you have questions about equality?

Give us a call at CUBE HR, we’ll be happy to advise you and we have policies and templates available to meet every HR need.

Why not check out our other blog on the same topic Equality in the Workplace – 3 Things You Need to Know

You can also watch a range of other videos on our YouTube channel